Meet LM’s Newest Tiger Teachers: Mrs. DeLong, Mrs. Jansen, & Mrs. Jaquez

The 2012-2013 school year welcomed three new teachers to La Mariposa, one completely new and two very familiar.  To get to know them all a little better, we asked them a bunch of questions.  This is what they said:

Mrs. Delong, 3rd Grade

“I am so thrilled to have a job at La Mariposa.  Everyone has been so welcoming and helpful already.  I am really looking forward to a great year!”–Megan DeLong

Before La Mariposa…I taught first and second grades in Baltimore, Maryland and Washington DC.  I also taught summer school in Philadelphia.

What are some of your favorite things?  There are too many books and movies that I like so I can’t pick a favorite.  I love spicy food.

What do you like to do?  I like going to the beach, riding bikes, camping, reading, and watching movies. We are new to California so we enjoy exploring all the new places around us.

Can you tell us a little about your family?  We moved out here last year from Washington DC.  We have two wonderful children: Adalyn, age 3 and Rhys, age 5 months.

Mrs. Jansen, 4th Grade

“I love the LA kings and have followed them for the past 20 years.  I ride dirt bikes in the desert with my family, a hobby I just picked up about a year ago.”–Danielle Jansen

Before La Mariposa…I have taught in Thousand Oaks at two private schools, where I was co-teaching a 2-3 combo, and I was also a Spanish and PE specialty teacher for the entire K-5 school.  Prior to accepting this full-time position, I had been working as a substitute teacher for PVSD since 2002. It was perfect while my kids were little.

What are some of your favorite things?  One of my favorite movies is “When Harry Met Sally”. I love all food, but especially Chinese food. My favorite book, changes all the time, but The Help was a recent favorite.

Where do you like to go?  I love camping with my family and friends and Hawaii is rather wonderful too.

Can you tell us a little about your family?  I’ve been  married to a great guy for the last 13 years.  We have two daughters, one in middle school and one in fourth grade.  I have a little dog Milo, who I adore and two cats too.

Mrs. Jaquez, 1st Grade

“I love to go to sporting events, hang out with girlfriends, and be with family.”–Angela Jaquez

Before La Mariposa…I taught kindergarten for 5 years in Santa Ana and I taught a K-1 Combo and  kindergarten at Las Posas.  I have substitute taught all grades K-12 in Irvine School District, Santa Ana Unified School District, and PVSD.

What are some of your favorite things?  I don’t have an ultimate favorite movie, but I love “Pretty Woman”, “The Notebook”, “Sandlot”, and “Hoosiers”. (Mostly all feel good movies.) My favorite food is PIZZA!

Where do you like to go?  My kids sporting events!  On my time, in my bed to rest!!  A rare occasion.

Can you tell us a little about your family?  I will be married 12 years on November 4th to Jaime.  I have 3 kids: Jaime Jr. 11, Gabriela 8, Marcos 7.  We are all very involved in sports.

One thought on “Meet LM’s Newest Tiger Teachers: Mrs. DeLong, Mrs. Jansen, & Mrs. Jaquez

Leave a Reply

