Cast an Informed Vote: Your Duty, Your Resources

by Kamala Nahas, President, Camarillo Council of PTAs 2012-2014

“Voting is the foundational act that breathes life into the principle of the consent of the governed.” –DeForest Soaries

My father is an immigrant.  While he is ethnically East Indian, he was a British citizen born in Kenya and raised in Uganda until he emigrated and became a naturalized US Citizen in the mid-1980s.

Somewhere buried in our family lore is a story of his mother and father fleeing their home and successful business in Kenya with nothing save two babies and the gold coins my grandmother had sewn into the seams of her sari.  A generation later, after a lifetime of rebuilding what had been taken from them in Kenya and being the central support for their extended family, my grandparents were forced again from their home in Uganda under the tyranny of Idi Amin. Again, left only with their iron will, cleverness, and fortitude.  (If you aren’t sure who Idi Amin is, check out the movie,“The Last King of Scotland”).  Luckily by then, my father was already in the United States–having arrived a few years earlier on a student visa.

Why am I telling you this?

Because every time I look at my father’s face I am reminded that freedom isn’t free and I am lucky to live in America.

Countless American sons, husbands, fathers and more recently, sisters, daughters, and wives have paid for our freedom with their lives.  In countries around the world, people are denied the right to vote, the freedom of speech, and the ability to stand up for themselves or protect and provide for their families.  Yet, only about half of eligible US citizens vote, less in non-presidential years1.  When did America lose her voice?

I see voting as a responsibility I bear that comes along with the freedom I enjoy.  It is my duty, as an American, to study the candidates and the issues and cast an informed vote from my conscience based on facts, not an emotional response from a TV commercial or billboard ad.  Sometimes, the very freedoms we are blessed with can make this difficult as we are bombarded by information from all sides.

With the informed vote in mind I am providing you with some online resources that I have found useful.  Whether you use them, I highly encourage you to do your research and get on out their and vote!

Great, Unbiased Informational Resources

 Resources for CA State Ballot Initiatives

Learn more about our local candidates for School Board:

Contact Your School Board Candidates

Leave a Reply

