From the President: Pink Refrigerators, Running From Hippos, and Last Requests

As president, writing regular articles for the newsletter is part of the job description.  Over the past two years I’ve tried to be insightful, amusing, thought provoking, and informative.  If you regularly read my articles, all four of you, you might remember the first one I wrote based on children’s story “The Pink Refrigerator”.  In this article I set forth some pretty simple goals: Make Pictures, Read More,  Play Music,  Plant a Garden,  Explore More.  I believe in the past two years the PTA has done it’s best to honor those goals.

In my next article I got a little more personal.  The article was about the benefits of walking to school, but I couldn’t write about that without including the stories my parents would tell me about their experiences walking to school.  Trust me, when your dad grows up in Africa, every story includes either a hippo or a lion.  Let’s just say he ran to school.

I think I peaked early and used up all my good material in those first two articles.  Somewhere along the line, I expressed my love for teachers and the amazing gift they give each of our children everyday.  I’ve talked about voting and the importance of being informed.  Just this year, I provided you with information on the much anticipated new high school in Camarillo slated to open for the fall of 2015 and extolled the virtues of volunteerism.  Thank you for sticking with me.

So after all this, what is else left to say before I humbly shrink back into the shadows?   I have three things…okay there were really about ten things, but I’ve narrowed it down to three:

  • Stay Involved and Connected:  Investing your time in your child’s educational world is the best investment you can ever make.
  • Stay Informed and Use Your Voice:  Education Funding in our great state of California is at an all time low.  We have a new high school slated to be built less than two miles away.  The PTA will continue to provide information on the ballot measures set for November and the progress with the new school.   Let the powers that be know what you want for your children by sending emails and voting your conscience.
  • Thank You:  Some people say we are lucky at La Mariposa, but I don’t subscribe to that.  La Mariposa is a great place to learn and grow not because of luck, but because our families, teachers, and administration put kids first everyday.  We all collaborate and contribute in the ways that we are strongest, we fill each other’s gaps, and we stand on each other’s shoulders.  Thank you for all of your time, your treasure, and your talents freely given in the service of the La Mariposa Community.

As I end my term as PTA President I am certain that our Tiger Spirit will not fade, but shine more brightly on the wings of our butterflies.

Advocate…Enrich…Inspire

Fondly,

Kamala Nahas

La Mariposa PTA President, 2010-2012

PS:  I still have five years left at LM, so you’ll have to put up with me being on campus a little while longer.  See ‘ya around.

2 thoughts on “From the President: Pink Refrigerators, Running From Hippos, and Last Requests

  1. Thank you for all your hard work, dedication, and inspiration. You have been an integral part of making our school what it is today. We are looking forward to those “five years left” and can’t wait to see where they take us!

  2. Kamala, Thanks a million for all your dedication and hard work with all that you have done in your two years as PTA President. You are too modest about your Paw Print readers…there are many more than 4!

Leave a Reply

