GATE Expert Project Night

By Colin W., Student Contributor

The GATE Expert Project Night was held on Thursday, April 12, 2012 at the Camarillo Community Center.  La Mariposa 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade GATE students got to participate along with GATE students from Dos Caminos, Las Colinas, and Los Primeros Schools.  The other Camarillo schools presented on Wednesday, April 11th.  Expert Project Night is my first event in GATE.  At the beginning I was a bit scared because I may forget my facts when people ask questions, but as the night went on, it got easier to talk to others and answer their questions.  There were a lot of projects displayed there. We were able to walk around and learn about different projects on display.                                                                                                                               ;lh;ohi;oij’pjoj

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My favorite displays were the Titanic and the Claw Machine. Some of my friends did projects on Cataracts, the leading cause of blindness (Cate K.) and Electricity and Magnetism (Edison H.).
I decided to do my project on the Bermuda Triangle.  I chose this project because of the mystery of the disappearances that took place in the area.  Since we had not learned about the Bermuda Triangle in school yet, I thought it would be great to learn about it now.  While I was researching the Bermuda Triangle, I learned a lot of new things and thought there was so much information that I wouldn’t remember it all.  Two events that stand out with my project research are: in March 1918, the USS Cyclops (ship) was the biggest loss of life in US Naval history (306 people) where the cause of the loss is unknown and on December 5, 1945, Flight 19, a training exercise involving 14 pilots in 5 Avengers (airplanes) disappeared on the east coast of Florida and to this day, the wreckage has not been found.
I had an awesome time presenting my project, learning about other projects, and meeting new people.  I will definitely do it again next year.
One thought on “GATE Expert Project Night

Leave a Reply

