From the President: January Pants

Confession:  I’m wearing my January Pants (aka “I ate too many cookies in December” pants or “warning” pants).  January pants are the pants that usually reside on the bottom of the pile in the back of your drawer 10-11 months of the year.   They are the pants that we reserve for when the only other pants we can wear are sweatpants.  And they are the pants that remind us if we don’t get our acts together soon we’ll need, you guessed it…new pants.

For many of us, January is that time of year to evaluate our lives, count our successes from the previous year, and identify both opportunities and priorities for the coming year.  This year I am focusing on “less”.  Buying “less” stuff that jams up my closets, using “less” so there is more for future generations, and eating “less” so I can pack those darn January pants away…forever.  There are a few things I will be doing more of though.  I’ll be delegating “more” so I can spend more quality time with my husband and kids, letting “more” go because holding onto it just weighs me down, and working out “more” so I feel better every day.  In a nutshell: Make time for my family, be kind to my planet, take care of myself.  What are you working on for 2012?

If you are a little stumped, I’m bringing back a great article we included in our January 2010 Pawprint:   “New Year’s Resolutions for the Family’s Soul”. Enjoy and Happy New Year!

–Kamala Nahas

PS:  Hopefully next time you see me I’ll be wearing my February Pants.

Adapted from New Year’s resolutions for the Family’s Soul

by Charlene Giannetti and Margaret Sagarese

This year, rather than repeat that promise to diet or plan to pay off your credit card for the umpteenth time, why not turn your thoughts to a deeper commitment? Let’s get down to the basics for truly nourishing, achievable New Year resolutions now. Take a 9-step approach to adding more love in your life and your family.

  • Bring on the laughs.  Put more humour into your life. Rent a comedy film once a week, and giggle family-style.
  • Schedule a weekly dinner. Let different family members decide the menus each week. Alternate cooking, or cook together.
  • Commit as a family to volunteer within your community.
  • Make race an issue.  Mostly we all avoid the issue of race. Why not discuss it instead?
  • Document your family history.
  • Look after yourself.
  • Swap a hug for a yell.
  • Perform one kind gesture a day.
  • Get in touch with the natural world
Leave a Reply

